Skip to main content

Oceania · rank 4 by capacity in service

Data centers in Australia

236 facilities across 151 cities, with 2.2 GW in service. Every value comes from a named public page, and capacity that is announced or under construction is never merged into what is running.

236

Facilities

151

Cities

2.2 GW

In service

6.2 GW

Announced or building

Country view

Australia

236 facilities across 151 cities. Divisions are shaded by the number of facilities recorded in each.

Western Australia: 11 facilitiesNorthern Territory: no facilities recorded with this regionSouth Australia: 7 facilitiesQueensland: 11 facilitiesNew South Wales: 11 facilitiesJervis Bay Territory: 1 facilitiesVictoria: 11 facilitiesTasmania: 2 facilitiesMacquarie Island: no facilities recorded with this regionLord Howe Island: 11 facilitiesAustralian Capital Territory: 1 facilitiesSt Leonards, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBrooklyn, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueHorsley Park, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueLane Cove West, Australia: 2 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMaddington, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueNorth Ryde, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueLaverton North, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueGuildford, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueHume, Australia: 3 facilities; 3 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueDerrimut, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBelmont, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueGreystanes, Nsw, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueUltimo, New South Wales, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid cataloguePyrmont, NSW, Australia: 2 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueTullamarine, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMinchinbury, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueArtarmon, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueTullamarine, Victoria, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueClayton, Australia: 2 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueRosehill, Australia: 2 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBeard, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMoss Vale, NSW, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueNoble Park, VIC, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueJerrabomberra, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueWangara, Australia: 2 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBrisbane Airport, Australia: 2 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid cataloguePort Melbourne, Victoria, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBaulkham Hills, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBrisbane, QLD, Australia: 3 facilities; 3 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMalaga, Western Australia, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueSt. Leonards, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueWishart, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMitcham, VIC, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueCanning Vale, WA, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueEdinburgh, SA, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMaroochydore, Australia: 2 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMascot, New South Wales, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMitchell, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueDeer Park, Victoria, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBaulkham Hills, NSW, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueSydney Olympic Park, NSW, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMalaga, WA, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBruce, ACT, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueNorth Ryde, New South Wales, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueCanberra, ACT, Australia: 2 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueFortitude Valley, QLD, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueKidman Park, SA, Australia: 2 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueKidman Park, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueKenmore, Queensland, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueDeer Park, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueRhodes, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueRutherford, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueEight Mile Plains, QLD, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBelmont, Western Australia, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueKilsyth South, Victoria, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueToowoomba, Queensland, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBrisbane, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueNewcastle, NSW, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueDocklands, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueFortitude Valley, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueHawthorn, SA, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueNewman, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid cataloguePort Hedland, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueEight Mile Plains, Queensland, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMelbourne, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBibra Lake, Western Australia, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueNorth Lakes, Queensland, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueDubbo, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueEast Albury, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueAdelaide, Australia: 3 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueTownsville, Qld, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueTamworth, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueCoffs Harbour, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueTurvey Park, NSW, Australia: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueAdelaide, SA, Australia: 1 facilityAlbury, Australia: 1 facilityAlfredton, Australia: 1 facilityBallarat, Australia: 1 facilityBallarat Central, Australia: 1 facilityBurwood East, Australia: 1 facilityCarrum Downs, Victoria, Australia: 1 facilityGeraldton, WA, Australia: 1 facilityGlebe, New South Wales, Australia: 1 facilityGrafton, NSW, Australia: 1 facilityKennington, Australia: 1 facilityMawson Lakes, Australia: 1 facilityMayfield West, NSW, Australia: 1 facilityMount Helen, Australia: 1 facilityNorth Melbourne, VIC, Australia: 1 facilityOsborne Park, Western Australia, Australia: 1 facilityPooraka, South Australia, Australia: 1 facilityPort Melbourne, VIC, Australia: 1 facilityRichmond, Victoria, Australia: 1 facilityRosebery, New South Wales, Australia: 1 facilitySeven Hills, Australia: 1 facilitySmeaton Grange, Australia: 1 facilitySpring Hill, Queensland, Australia: 1 facilitySpringfield, Queensland, Australia: 1 facilitySydney, Australia: 1 facilityTraralgon, Australia: 1 facilityWinnellie, Australia: 1 facilityTruganina, Australia: 5 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueWest Footscray, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMacquarie Park, Australia: 3 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid cataloguePort Melbourne, Australia: 3 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueAlexandria, Australia: 4 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMacquarie Park, NSW, Australia: 3 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueFyshwick, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueSydney, New South Wales, Australia: 5 facilities; 3 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMascot, Australia: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueDarwin, Australia: 3 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueSydney, NSW, Australia: 4 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMelbourne, VIC, Australia: 5 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueSt Leonards, NSW, Australia: 4 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueAdelaide, South Australia, Australia: 7 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBrisbane, Queensland, Australia: 4 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMelbourne, Victoria, Australia: 4 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid cataloguePerth, Western Australia, Australia: 4 facilitiesPerth, WA, Australia: 2 facilitiesChippendale, Australia: 1 facilityCobblebank, Australia: 1 facilityDeakin, Australia: 1 facilityDerrimut, Victoria, Australia: 1 facilityDickson, ACT, Australia: 1 facilityEast Perth, Western Australia, Australia: 1 facilityMitchell, Australian Capital Territory, Australia: 1 facilityPerth, Australia: 1 facilityShenton Park, Western Australia, Australia: 1 facilitySilverwater, New South Wales, Australia: 1 facilitySouthport, Queensland, Australia: 1 facilitySpringfield Central, Australia: 1 facilityTownsville, Queensland, Australia: 1 facilityUnanderra, New South Wales, Australia: 1 facilityWest Melbourne, Victoria, Australia: 1 facilityWest Perth, Western Australia, Australia: 1 facilityYarraville, Australia: 1 facilityKemps Creek, Australia: 2 facilities; 1.2 GW reported; 0 MW in service; 190 MW under construction; 1 GW plannedBrendale, Australia: 1 facility; 800 MW reported; 0 MW in service; 800 MW under construction; 0 MW plannedEastern Creek, Australia: 7 facilities; 709 MW reported; 123 MW in service; 0 MW under construction; 586 MW plannedHuntingwood, Australia: 2 facilities; 530 MW reported; 530 MW in service; 0 MW under construction; 0 MW plannedMarsden Park, Australia: 1 facility; 504 MW reported; 0 MW in service; 504 MW under construction; 0 MW plannedErskine Park, Australia: 4 facilities; 476 MW reported; 26 MW in service; 0 MW under construction; 450 MW planned
Reported city power
1 GW and above
200 MW – 1 GW
50 – 200 MW
10 – 50 MW
under 10 MW
How a bubble is drawnReported, coloured by stage:
In serviceUnder constructionPlannedStage not specified
Dashed edge: sized from a derived figure, not a reported oneSmall dot: city located and counted142 cities shown

Bubbles are placed at the city centroid, not at a facility address: the catalogue releases location at city granularity. Bubbles with a solid edge are sized from reported capacity; those with a dashed edge from a figure derived off the facility’s own reported dimensions. A derived figure sizes a bubble and nothing else — it enters no total, ranking, or statistic anywhere on this site. Planned capacity is not operating capacity. This view is framed on Australia’s principal landmass, which leaves 4 facilities in 3 outlying cities outside the frame. They are counted in the figures above. The map plots 8,740 facilities across 3,912 cities; a campus is plotted once, at the campus. Division shading covers the 54 of 236 facilities whose recorded region matches a division name. An unshaded division means the catalogue records no matching region for its facilities, not that it holds none — every facility is still plotted by city.

Capacity by development stage

2.2 GW
In service
2.4 GW
Under construction
3.8 GW
Planned
1 GW
Stage not specified

By facility count: 193 in service, 11 under construction, 29 planned, 3 stage not specified.

Compare the ten leading countries