Skip to main content

North America · rank 8 by capacity in service

Data centers in Canada

280 facilities across 111 cities, with 1.5 GW in service. Every value comes from a named public page, and capacity that is announced or under construction is never merged into what is running.

280

Facilities

111

Cities

1.5 GW

In service

8.8 GW

Announced or building

Country view

Canada

280 facilities across 111 cities. Divisions are shaded by the number of facilities recorded in each.

British Columbia: 36 facilitiesAlberta: 31 facilitiesSaskatchewan: 8 facilitiesManitoba: 9 facilitiesOntario: 86 facilitiesQuébec: 59 facilitiesNew Brunswick: 4 facilitiesYukon: no facilities recorded with this regionNunavut: no facilities recorded with this regionNewfoundland and Labrador: no facilities recorded with this regionNova Scotia: 5 facilitiesNorthwest Territories: no facilities recorded with this regionPrince Edward Island: 2 facilitiesBennett, Alberta, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueChestermere, Alberta, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueDuffield, Alberta, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueHigh River, Alberta, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueRolly View, Alberta, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueLorneville, New Brunswick, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBushell Park, Saskatchewan, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueLévis, Quebec, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueFox Creek, Alberta, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueSherbrooke, Quebec, Canada: 4 facilities; 4 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBaie-D'Urfé, Quebec, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMackenzie, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid cataloguePointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada: 3 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueQuebec City, Quebec, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid cataloguePrince George, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBaie-Comeau, Quebec, Canada: 2 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueRichmond Hill, Ontario, Canada: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueCanal Flats, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueLachute, Quebec, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMoncton, New Brunswick, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueSaint-Jérôme, Quebec, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueSaint-Laurent, Quebec, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueCowansville, Quebec, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueKirkland, Quebec, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMontréal, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueChristina Lake, British Columbia, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueSt Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueFarnham, Quebec, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMagog, Quebec, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueCambridge, Ontario, Canada: 2 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueLondon, Ontario, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueKelowna, British Columbia, Canada: 3 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueKanata, Ontario, Canada: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueNepean, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBoucherville, Quebec, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueHalifax, Nova Scotia, Canada: 4 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueWinkler, Manitoba, Canada: 1 facility; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueHamilton, Ontario, Canada: 3 facilitiesMontréal, Quebec, Canada: 2 facilitiesQuebec, Quebec, Canada: 2 facilitiesSaint John, New Brunswick, Canada: 2 facilitiesAbbotsford, British Columbia, Canada: 1 facilityAirdrie, Alberta, Canada: 1 facilityBeauharnois, Quebec, Canada: 1 facilityCoquitlam, British Columbia, Canada: 1 facilityDonnacona, Quebec, Canada: 1 facilityDrummondville, Quebec, Canada: 1 facilityEast York, Ontario, Canada: 1 facilityKingston, Ontario, Canada: 1 facilityL'Ancienne-Lorette, Quebec, Canada: 1 facilityLethbridge, Alberta, Canada: 1 facilityLevis, Quebec, Canada: 1 facilityLongueuil, Quebec, Canada: 1 facilityMarkham, Canada: 1 facilityMilton, Ontario, Canada: 1 facilityOakville, Ontario, Canada: 1 facilityOttawa, Ontario, Canada: 1 facilityOttawa, Canada: 1 facilityRimouski, Quebec, Canada: 1 facilitySaint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada: 1 facilitySambro, Nova Scotia, Canada: 1 facilityVictoria, British Columbia, Canada: 1 facilityMontreal, Quebec, Canada: 20 facilities; 12 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueCalgary, Alberta, Canada: 11 facilities; 7 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueToronto, Ontario, Canada: 36 facilities; 16 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMarkham, Ontario, Canada: 13 facilities; 9 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueVancouver, British Columbia, Canada: 23 facilities; 12 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueEtobicoke, Ontario, Canada: 4 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueWaterloo, Ontario, Canada: 3 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBrampton, Ontario, Canada: 3 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueMississauga, Ontario, Canada: 12 facilities; 5 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueBurnaby, British Columbia, Canada: 4 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueKitchener, Ontario, Canada: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueWinnipeg, Manitoba, Canada: 8 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueKamloops, British Columbia, Canada: 3 facilities; 2 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueLasalle, Quebec, Canada: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueEdmonton, Alberta, Canada: 9 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueVaughan, Ontario, Canada: 2 facilities; 1 with reported capacity, detail in the paid catalogueSaskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada: 4 facilitiesCharlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada: 2 facilitiesNanaimo, British Columbia, Canada: 2 facilitiesRegina, Saskatchewan, Canada: 2 facilitiesVerdun, Quebec, Canada: 2 facilitiesAnjou, Quebec, Canada: 1 facilityBlackfalds, Canada: 1 facilityShawinigan, Quebec, Canada: 1 facilityToronto, Canada: 1 facilityVarennes, Quebec, Canada: 1 facilityVaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada: 1 facilityWhite City, Saskatchewan, Canada: 1 facilityWarburg, Alberta, Canada: 2 facilities; 3 GW reported; 0 MW in service; 0 MW under construction; 3 GW plannedFort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada: 1 facility; 920 MW reported; 0 MW in service; 0 MW under construction; 920 MW plannedCadotte Lake, Canada: 1 facility; 650 MW reported; 0 MW in service; 0 MW under construction; 650 MW plannedIle Des Chênes, Canada: 1 facility; 500 MW reported; 0 MW in service; 0 MW under construction; 500 MW planned
Reported city power
1 GW and above
200 MW – 1 GW
50 – 200 MW
10 – 50 MW
under 10 MW
How a bubble is drawnReported, coloured by stage:
In serviceUnder constructionPlannedStage not specified
Dashed edge: sized from a derived figure, not a reported oneSmall dot: city located and counted94 cities shown

Bubbles are placed at the city centroid, not at a facility address: the catalogue releases location at city granularity. Bubbles with a solid edge are sized from reported capacity; those with a dashed edge from a figure derived off the facility’s own reported dimensions. A derived figure sizes a bubble and nothing else — it enters no total, ranking, or statistic anywhere on this site. Planned capacity is not operating capacity. The map plots 8,740 facilities across 3,912 cities; a campus is plotted once, at the campus. Division shading covers the 240 of 280 facilities whose recorded region matches a division name. An unshaded division means the catalogue records no matching region for its facilities, not that it holds none — every facility is still plotted by city.

Capacity by development stage

1.5 GW
In service
133 MW
Under construction
8.7 GW
Planned
350 MW
Stage not specified

By facility count: 246 in service, 8 under construction, 21 planned, 5 stage not specified.

Compare the ten leading countries